Conference and School 2016

SantiagoThe Annual Conference and School of the International Transportation Economics Association was hosted by the Faculty of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Universidad de Chile in Santiago, Chile, from June 13-17, 2016.

Information about the Conference and School is available at:

Moshe Ben Akiva 2016

ITEA Conference 2016

The Conference ran from June 15-17, 2016. The keynote speaker was Professor Moshe Ben-Akiva (MIT, USA).

The International Transport Forum (ITF, OECD) sponsored a plenary session on “Transportation Economics with BIG DATA”. The speakers were: Moshe Ben-Akiva (MIT, USA), Nikolaos Geroliminis (EPFL, Switzerland), Nicolas Glady (ESSEC Business School, France), Marcela Munizaga (Universidad de Chile, Chile). Moderator: André de Palma (École Normale Supériuer de Cachan, France).

ITEA School 2016

ITEA School 2016

The School, June 13-15, provided an introduction to academic research in transport economics including recent advances.

The School program consisted of lectures and tutorials delivered by ten faculty comprising a range of the most prominent researchers in transport economics: Richard Arnott (University of California, Riverside, USA), Leonardo Basso (Universidad de Chile, Chile), Maria Börjesson (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden), Jan Brueckner (University of California, Irvine, USA), André de Palma (École Normale Supériuer de Cachan, France), Mogens Fosgerau (Technical University of Denmark), Robin Lindsey (University of British Columbia, Canada), Kenneth Small (University of California, Irvine, USA), Jos Van Ommeren (VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands), Erik Verhoef (VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands).

ITEA Prizes in 2016

ITEA is very pleased to announce the following winners of the best paper prize awards at the ITEA Annual Conference in Santiago, Chile, in 2016.

The Best Paper by a Junior Researcher Prize was awarded to:

Yoon Sang Moon of the University at Buffalo for the paper “Internal Structure of Consumer Cities: Core and Subcenters”.

The Best Overall Paper Prize was jointly awarded to two people:

Tiziana D’Alfonso of Sapienza University of Rome for the paper “An incentive pricing mechanism for efficient airport slot allocation in Europe”.

Eren Inci of Sabanci University for the paper “Unbundling Curbside Parking Costs from Housing Prices and Rents”.

Congratulations to all three winners for their excellence in research!